How to Become a Certified Information Systems Security Professional?

Sharing is caring!

Some people want to speed up their information security careers. Some of them wish to differentiate themselves from their clients or employers. They can do so through CISSP or certified information systems security professionals. The CISSP certification is an elite way to demonstrate their knowledge.

The certification will help advance your career and let you join a community with like-minded cybersecurity experts. You can implement, engineer, design, and run an information security program.

When you take the CISSP exam, you can prove that you have managerial and technical knowledge. This knowledge will help you manage, design, and engineer the overall security posture of a particular organization easily and effectively.

A brief definition of CISSP certification

The CISSP training certification is globally recognized. It’s provided by [ISC]2, one of the well-known global leaders within the information security realm. This particular certificate is created for experts who focus on 1 out of the 8 domains of CISSP. These domains are

  • Software Development Security
  • Asset Security
  • Access and Identity Management
  • Security Architecture and Engineering
  • Network Security and Communications
  • Security Operations
  • Security Assessment and Testing,
  • Risk and Security Management

As an applicant, you must meet all the eligibility criteria to apply for the certification. You also must pass the examination to earn the certification to apply for jobs.

How to become a CISSP Professional?

When you have decided to take up the ISC2 CISSP certification to become a CISSP professional, there are some steps that you have to follow.

Step 1: Have a clear understanding of the exam formats

The CISSP online exam is equipped with the Linear Exam and CAT exam formats. The CAT [Computerized Adaptive Testing] examination format is based completely on English. But the Linear one comes in other languages. Let’s check out both of the modes in detail

CISSP Examination [CAT Mode]

  • Examination Format: MCQ or Multiple-Choice Questions
  • Number of Questions: 100 to 150
  • Examination Duration: 3 Hours
  • The Passing Score: 700 points out of 1000 points
  • Language: English
  • The Test Center: Authorized ISC2 PPC and Pearson Vue

CISSP Examination [Linear Mode]

  • Examination Format: MCQ or Multiple-Choice Questions
  • Number of Questions: 250
  • Examination Duration: 6 Hours
  • Passing Score: 700 points out of 1000 points
  • Language: Korean, French, Spanish, Simplified Chinese, German, Japanese, Portuguese and Brazilian
  • Test Center: Authorize ISC2 PPC and Pearson Vue

Step 2: Meet all the prerequisite criteria

You have to meet all the needed experience that is needed in the eligibility criteria. You also must carry 5 years of experience in any 2 domains out of the 8 domains of CISSP to become eligible for this certification.

Step 3: Attend the CISSP training course

It’s important to take up the CISSP certification training from an ISC2-accredited training partner, such as Simplilearn. You will receive both live online training and instructor-led classroom training. However, the majority of the CISSP training courses are available online. It has become easier for all those learners who cannot be physically present to attend the classes due to their location.

Step 4: Take part with other security experts

The CISSP ISC2 course enables all learners to co-participate in training with other security experts. These experts are from different industry sectors with whom you can share knowledge. This can help you comprehensively understand all the best security practices utilized globally.

Step 5: Make preparations for the CISSP Examination

Once you complete the CISSP training, you must create a “Pearson Vue” account to take the exam. After completing the registration, you must upload the professional experience and the ISC2 Code of Ethics. You must subscribe to the ISC2 Code of Ethics if you want the CISSP certification. After that, you need to pay $699 [INR 57,696] for the CISSP exam online. Try to clear the exam on the 1st attempt.

Step 6: Maintain the CISSP Credential

After clearing the CISSP certification examination, you will receive the certification immediately in the form of a soft copy. The hard copy will be delivered to the address provided through Pearson Vue. You have to recertify every 3 years after achieving the CISSP certification. You can do so by earning CPE [Continuing Professional Education credits. To earn the credits, you must keep paying a membership fee to ISC2 annually.

How many professionals have the CISSP Certification?

Experts say there are 152,000 CISSP-certified experts available across the globe, and India has 3156 of them. Besides that, countries like the USA and the United Kingdom have 94,320 and 8226 CISSP professionals, respectively.

Moreover, Australia has 3169, China has 3866, Canada has 6632, and Japan has 3339 CISSP-certified experts.

The average salary of CISSP Experts in India

The CISSP certification salary in India differs greatly from one job position to another. The table below will give you an idea of the average salary of CISSP professionals.

CISSP job titleThe average salary
Information Security ManagerINR 1,500,000
Chief Information Security OfficerINR 2,200,000
Information Security AnalystINR 570,000
Security ArchitectINR 2,200,00
Security EngineerINR 850,000
Information Security OfficerINR 1,900,000
Information Security EngineerINR 2,000,000

Why is there a high demand for CISSP Professionals?

The demand for CISSP experts has exceeded the number of CISSP certification holders. According to a study conducted by ISC2, there is currently a global shortage of over 3.4 million women and men within the cyber workforce realm.

This clearly shows that certification as a CISSP professional will make you stand out among your competitors. It will also help you secure high-paying jobs easily. Even after you obtain the CISSP training in Bangalore, you can continue to learn with the CISSP concentration like

  • CISSP-ISSAP for Architects
  • CISSP-ISSMP for Management
  • CISSP-ISSEP for Engineers

These certifications will provide you with knowledge and understanding in all these domains.

Also Read: Top 10 Reasons to Go For CBAP Training


CISSP certification will be highly beneficial for all security experts. Many employers or companies value the CISSP certification. It’s mainly because of its designation as a standard for all security experts. Obtaining the certification will just help you get a high-paying job. But will also provide you with the knowledge and skills to run, design, and manage information security programs.

Leave a Comment